April 11, 2021

by a NASCAR fanatic - not affiliated with NASCAR

TALLADEGA, Ala. (AP) The Latest on NASCAR’s race at Talladega Superspeedway (all times local):


Joey Logano has won at Talladega Superspeedway for the third time.

Logano held off Kurt Busch on the last lap for his first win since last April at Richmond. But that time his car failed inspection, costing him a shot at the playoffs.

He was the only Team Penske to make it through a late 14-car accident without damage.

Logano was followed by Busch, Chase Elliott and pole sitter Kevin Harvick.

4:20 p.m.

A 14-car accident with 22 laps remaining at Talladega Superspeedway has eliminated many top drivers.

Jimmie Johnson’s car drifted low into traffic to trigger the wreck. Among those collected were Hendrick Motorsports teammate William Byron.

Johnson was able to continue the race and said his Chevrolet spun after he felt like he’d been hit in the rear left corner of the car.

Paul Menard was involved in the accident and knocked out of the race. He had scored the first stage victory of his career by winning the second segment.

Joey Logano was the only Team Penske driver to make it through the accident without damage. Five-time Talladega winner Brad Keselowski and Ryan Blaney both suffered damage.

3:15 p.m.

Paul Menard has won the second stage at Talladega Superspeedway. It is the first stage victory of his career.

Menard drove his Ford fielded by The Wood Brothers to the stage victory ahead of Joey Logano, Ryan Blaney, Kevin Harvick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and David Ragan. The top six drivers are in Fords.

Jimmie Johnson finished the stage in seventh and was the highest ranked non-Ford driver.

2:35 p.m.

Jamie McMurray has been in another crash at Talladega Superspeedway.

McMurray rolled his car multiple times in a Friday accident. During Sunday’s race, he was collected in a multicar crash that also included his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Kyle Larson.

The accident happened when Erik Jones drifted into McMurray’s lane. Jones said he was fighting a loose car and took responsibility for starting the accident.

Also in the accident was Trevor Bayne, who was told earlier this week his Roush Fenway Racing ride will be shared the rest of the season with Matt Kenseth.

2:20 p.m.

Brad Keselowski has won the opening stage at Talladega in quiet fashion.

The five-time Talladega winner won his fourth stage win of the season.

Trailing him were Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch and Paul Menard.

Pole sitter Kevin Harvick remained in the top 10 at ninth.

Drivers spent much of the stage in single file, a rarity for the tri-oval. Also something of a rarity: There weren’t any wrecks.

Kyle Busch is seeking his fourth consecutive win, which only eight drivers have managed in NASCAR’s modern era dating back to 1972. None counted a win at Talladega in their streak.

1:25 p.m.

Kevin Harvick started Sunday’s race at Talladega Superspeedway on the pole as he seeks his fourth victory of the season.

Lined up next to Harvick is teammate Kurt Busch. The Stewart-Haas Racing Fords appear to be as strong as they were in the season-opening Daytona 500. Busch is seeking his first Talladega win.

Daytona and Talladega are the only two race tracks in NASCAR where the series requires horsepower-sapping restrictor plates. The size of those plates was changed on Friday after Jamie McMurray rolled multiple times in an accident during a practice session.

Harvick and Kyle Busch are tied with a series-best three victories. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. is the defending race winner and Austin Dillon won the Daytona 500.

Kyle Busch enters on a three-race winning streak.

More AP auto racing: https://racing.ap.org